Music: The Sound of Hope

Music: The Sound of Hope

Our Price:  £3.99


Code:  26199
Genre:  Music

Music: The Sound of Hope is a star-studded DVD produced by Clarence Adoo. It is a 'feelgood' DVD that really shows just how Clarence gets on with life despite his horrific car accident in 1995 which left him paralysed from the neck down. But it is not primarily about Clarence; it is about music and features a star-studded array of musicians including Sting, Sir Cliff Richard, Jools Holland, Courtney Pine, Dame Evelyn Glennie, Dr John Rutter and Headspace Ensemble.

Is music merely a comforting soundtrack to our lives or is it capable of becoming much more than that; a force for good, an agent of change, a source of hope? Clarence Adoo takes you on an enlightening and stimulating journey, revealing his personal, moving experiences of the power of music which carried him from a near-death experience to becoming a motivated, inspirational man with the help of his amazing world-renowned musician friends.

In this DVD Clarence asks musician friends what music means to them. Included among them are Sir Cliff Richard, Jools Holland, Dame Evelyn Glennie, Wynton Marsalis, John Rutter and Courtney Pine, in whose jazz band Clarence played for five years.

Interspersed with the interviews are performances by the interviewees and Sting, Black Dyke Band, Amandla Esandla, blind pianist Derek Paravicini, Headspace Ensemble (in which Clarence plays an electronic instrument invented for him), Cambridge Singers, Philip Cobb and Philip Jones Brass Ensemble. Of note are two pieces, both performed with The International Staff Band of The Salvation Army (ISB). The first is the march 'Shoeburyness' dedicated to the Salvation Army corps where Clarence grew up. It was written by Eiliv Herikstad at Clarence's request. Clarence conducts this piece. The other piece is thanks to technical wizardry, a sound recording of Clarence playing a cornet solo 'On the Golden Shore' in the Royal Albert Hall in the 1980s is matched to the accompaniment of the present day ISB.

If you like music, this DVD for you. As a bonus, there is a free CD with the music from the DVD so you can listen to it in the car.

All proceeds from this DVD go to The Clarence Adoo Trust. For more information visit

Be the first to Write a Review for this item!